Teaching 130 people in an online chat…WHAT?!

This semester, I am teaching two classes distance learning.  One is purely televised.  The other is my mammoth class of 130 students.  That one is for Psychoeducational Groups.

With a class like this one, the main objective of the class is to learn about groups.  So what’s the best way to do this?  Make a group!  Obviously, this is the class where students design their own group.

I got the bright idea that instead of lecturing every week for 3 hours at 7pm on a Thursday night, I’d go hybrid.  What that means is that the class lecture is every other week.  On the “off” weeks, I set up Blackboard for my students to work in groups via live chat.   That way, they don’t have to try to do this all via email- keeping in mind these students are from all over the state, as well as Arizona and Washington.

It’s the second “off ” week tonight and it’s been an interesting ride.  The technology issues that plagued the first “off” week are resolved.  Now, folks are getting comfortable with the process and excited about their projects.   It’s great to see them challenged, frustrated, happy, and proud.  All of the happy and stress makes me feel like I’m doing my job.  Challenging and supporting.  That’s me.

At 7pm, I popped online, armed with my water bottle and a full tummy.  Okay, so maybe I sneaked a couple of caramel corn pops before I started.

It’s now almost 9pm and I just finished bouncing between groups.  At ten minute intervals, I go from chat room to chat room.  Fifteen groups allow me to get through only two total times.  It’s crazy, exhausting, and really fun!

Here’s a shot of me “teaching” tonight…

Yeah, so I’m teaching in my flannel jammies.  Don’t judge.  🙂

One thought on “Teaching 130 people in an online chat…WHAT?!

  1. Gretchen says:

    I LOVE this!! If anyone could figure out how to teach such a big Groups class, it’s you! If I were in this class, I would love it! Oh, and I also love that you’re in your pj’s (or “suit” as Jackson calls it).

Leave a Reply

