Day 1 of the full-on Bikini Quest

You’ll notice that I capitalized Bikini Quest, mostly because I feel like it deserves respect.  It’s like another full-time job to think all day long about what you put in your mouth and when and how you’ll exercise.    This is a lifestyle change and one that will certainly be challenging.

I’m keeping a positive attitude about the whole thing.  Sure, my yoga clothes didn’t fit the best today, but that’s okay.  I did 45 minutes of yoga via my TV’s free exercise video channel.   My eating today was pretty good too.

I have 29 points to eat throughout a day on Weight Watchers.  Then, I can eat at my leisure through 49 extra points throughout the week.   I also can “earn” activity points” through exercise, which I can also eat.  I’m trying to not eat my exercise points today.

Here’s what I ate today:

Breakfast: quinoa tabouli (7 points).  I LOVE my quinoa tabouli.  I could eat it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  Yummy

Lunch: Sunrise Sunset smoothie at Tropical Smoothie Cafe with Mom (7 points, but not for sure) and a Jason’s Deli organic cracker I snuck in my purse (1 point)

Snack before yoga: string cheese stick (1 point) and another quinoa tabouli (7 points).  I told you, I can eat this stuff all day.  The serving size is a little more than a cup, so it’s not a lot.

Dinner: Progresso Light Chicken Vegetable Rotini soup (4 points).  Kevin is out of town, so I’m flying solo for dinner.

Points so far: 27/29.  I have two more left, which I may use to have another cheese stick and a piece of dark chocolate later.  On top of that, I have 2 more activity points I can eat.

Speaking of quinoa, you must try it.  I get mine from Trader Joe’s.  They have both red and plain varieties for the same price.  I think the red is a little more substantial than the white, but maybe it’s my imagination.  Anyway, quinoa is one of those superfoods that doesn’t get enough attention.  Let me tell you about quinoa…

Quinoa (pronounced keen-wa) originated in South America and was a favorite of the Incas.  They called it the “mother of all grains”.  It has been very popular in older civilizations because its easy to grow and very nutritious.  People make the mistake of thinking it’s a grain.  It’s actually more similar to leafy green vegetables, which makes no sense to me.  It looks just like a grain, but it’s got a crazy high level of protein and amino acids.  Not only is quinoa high in protein, but the protein it supplies is complete protein, meaning that it includes all nine essential amino acids. It also has a lot of the amino acid lysine, which is essential for tissue growth and repair.   I’ve thought about making it like a hot cereal in the morning, but I need to figure out how to eat it warm and not make such a big batch when I cook.

It’s 7:30 now and I’ve been home since 6pm.  Running around all day with my mom to various appointments left me pretty tired, but I have a lot of work to do tonight.  I have a list, of course, to keep me on track throughout the weekend!

These lists have been a constant in my life throughout my time as a graduate student and into my dissertation.  Now, they have a happy place as sidekick to a faculty member.  I just love checking off little boxes!

I even bought myself some star foil stickers to put on my calendar every time I exercise.  It’s the little things, right?

One thought on “Day 1 of the full-on Bikini Quest

Leave a Reply

