How to stay on track

Tomorrow afternoon, Kevin and I are driving to D.C. for the weekend. I’m super excited because my weekends for the past year have been mostly dissertation-filled, mind-numbing, letmedrinkabottleofwinetomakeitgoaway crazy. This will be the first time in a LONG time that neither of us have something going on. The bathroom reno can wait.

Of course, when Mr. Hall suggested we hit up IKEA and make a weekend of it, I flipped out in my head. How am I going to track my points in restaurants? What about my activity- is there a way to track walking all over D.C.? More importantly, how can I eat and have a good time without coming to you next Wednesday, crying because I gained back the three pounds I lost??

I think I may have it figured out:

  1. Keep track of the amount of minutes I spend walking. Maybe I’ll use my notes function on my iPhone. At the end of the day, I’ll use the activity tracker and track my points accordingly. I know I’ll be earning points, so I want to make sure I track them.
  2. Plan for snacks on the way up and the way home. I love road trips, especially the mindless snacking. Kevin and I went to the grocery store and got a few things (Wheat Thins, Triscuit thins, cheese to cut up in cubes, grapes, and those mini rice cakes that are sweet flavors like apple cinnamon and caramel<—my favorite). I plan to get out little snack bags tonight and portion these all out. Then, I’m going to write on each bag the points values with a Sharpie. That way, we each can decide what we want to eat, based on how many points we want to use.
  3. Use some of my extra “weekly” points. I’m going to D.C. I want to eat good food and be able to enjoy myself! I’ll make my choices smartly and choose one meal (lunch or dinner) where I’ll splurge a little.
  4. Pack some carrots and energy bars to snack on as we are walking around.

Hopefully, these plans work! (crosses fingers)

Leave a Reply

