What I love right now: Margaritas!

I don’t know about you, but there is something about springtime that makes me crave a margarita!  The warm weather teasing us for the past few weeks hasn’t helped either.

Last weekend, we went over to John and Annette’s house and they have a fancy Margaritaville machine.  We made tasty drinks all night- on the cheap!  It is so expensive to go out for margaritas.  We can’t get out of a restaurant without spending $40 in margarita money.  Ridiculous!  I don’t even want to think about how much money I spent last summer in margaritas.

So yesterday I decided to do something about it.  I told Kevin we were going to make an investment in our own Margaritaville machine.  Now these things are expensive, people.  I’m not gonna lie.  But I was on a mission.

At Bed Bath and Beyond and other retailers, you can’t get out of the store without paying over $250-$300 for one of these machines.  However, I am the super shopper and found out that there is one model of the Margaritaville for $200 that was sold last year at Walmart. After checking out several empty stores, we went to one last store, ready to give up on our beloved Margaritaville machine.

Imagine my surprise when I stumbled upon one lonely machine, marked down to $150!  Mr. Hall snatched that thing up quicker than I could say, “on the rocks or frozen?” and we were out of there!

Both of us had a lot of work to do around the house, so we didn’t get to the machine right away.  But, after many hours of waiting….margaritas!!!

Here is my review of the machine:

First of all, this is a heavy machine.  I was surprised how much room it takes up on the countertop.  The glass pitcher holds 36 ounces, so it’s enough for a few drinks.  The top part is where the ice goes and that shaves the ice into the pitcher.

You put all of your mixings in the bottom part and the shaved ice falls into the pitcher.  Then, it blends it up. 

Verdict?  The best damn margarita I’ve ever made at home.  EVER.  Totally worth $150 to avoid $6 or $8 margaritas at a restaurant. 

I also enjoyed the Trader Joe’s margarita mixer, which is super tasty.  Kevin has some issues with artificial sweeteners, which give him allergic type reactions when we get margaritas at restaurants.  The TJ mixer is all natural so he appreciated that too.

Two thumbs up!!!

2 thoughts on “What I love right now: Margaritas!

  1. Steven says:

    Last year we picked up a KitchenAide ice cream maker. Now it is a great tool for making ice cream, but it is also great for making margaritas!

Leave a Reply

