It’s not about perfection, it’s about direction

In the Bikini Quest, I’ve been derailed many times by perfection.  If there’s anything in my life that’s been my greatest strength and my greatest curse, it’s my perfectionistic tendencies.  Perfectionism served me well as I went through my doctoroal program.  It does not serve me well in my personal life.

Every year, I quietly resolve to be kind to myself and try to be less perfectionistic.  The Bikini Quest has been this up and down ride because I beat myself up when I get hurt, cheat on my diet, and fall off the wagon.

One thing that keeps me motivated is to track my actions.  Whether it’s food or exercise, I like to mark things off on a chart.  This morning I got up and exercised for two hours.  I did an hour of cardio and an hour of stretching and ab work.  Happily, I went to the calendar and marked off my exercise.

My pride turned to shame as I looked at my pitiful week of no exercise last week.  How quickly can my mood change?  For a perfectionist, pretty fast when you have a visual reminder.  Ugh.

I keep myself motivated by watching You Tube videos too.  There’s one person I like to watch who is going through a weight loss journey herself and using Weight Watchers.  She posted a video last night about perfection and I really liked what she said.

She said that it’s not about perfection, it’s about DIRECTION.  Say it with me three times, people.

This really spoke to me as a perfectionist.  I need to start looking at my small victories and not the bigger picture if Bikini Quest is ever going to work.

It’s not about perfection, it’s about direction.

One thought on “It’s not about perfection, it’s about direction

  1. Gretchen says:

    No one can be perfect. Even models are airbrushed and severly diet themselves to skeleton size. You’ve got to give yourself a break, dahling. Find a way to be happy with yourself, no matter your size or what you weigh. You are a beautiful person, just the way you are! Leave the perfectionist tendencies to the office work. It’s more fun that way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

