Recipe: Goat cheese chicken breasts

As you know, I’ve been trying to get some new recipes into my normal food rotation.  I’m such a creature of habit.  I’m always eating the same things over and over.

A couple of weeks ago, my local grocery store had a sale on chicken breasts.  99 cents a pound was a good deal, so I bought a package and it sat in my fridge while I decided what to do with it.

This particular chicken was bone-in, which is a little unusal for me.  I wanted to make something fast and easy, so I started looking for fast and easy chicken recipes.  Unfortunately, many were for boneless breasts.

Then, inspiration hit me.  I LOVE goat cheese.  Have you ever been to Carrabba’s and had their goat cheese chicken breasts with spinach and tomatoes?  It’s so tasty.  Their’s are boneless, so I decided to emprovise and created a goat cheese stuffed chicken breast. 

Here’s the recipe:

As many chicken breasts as you need, washed and patted dry.  Leave the skin on!

Get a small package of goat cheese and put it in a bowl to soften.   Add a few minced up garlic cloves and several sprinkles of whatever spices you like.  I chose basil, oregano, and some pepper.  Mix this all up in the bowl and keep adding the spices.  I tasted my goat cheese spread a few times and added more spice.

Take your chicken and put on a baking sheet that’s been greased.  Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Take each chicken breast and gently put your hand under the skin to loosen it.  Don’t break the skin- this is where your cheese mixture goes!

Unfortunately, there’s no good way to do this cleanly.  Just grab a glob of cheese and shove it under the skin.  Be generous and spread it around.

Pop the birds in the oven for about 35-45 minutes until the chicken is done.  I used a meat thermometer.  At the end of the cooking process, some of the cheese had dribbled down onto the pan and the juices were sizzling, but the whole thing held up really well.

The verdict?  Super tasty, moist chicken.  I had some leftovers the next day for lunch and they were equally delicious.

I calculated the chicken to be 5 points and the cheese was 1-2 points, depending on the amount of cheese used.

Leave a Reply

