Another year better and a surprise Meet My Owl

Yesterday was my 35th birthday!  I can hardly believe it.  I remember when I turned 30 I felt an immense amount of depression at the loss of my “youth”.  Then, I had someone on campus ask me if I was a freshman, so I got over it pretty quick.

I thought that yesterday would be another depressing day, but it was just any other day.  I don’t feel any older and I had a great weekend with family and friends.

Of course, anytime I hit one of these “milestone” birthdays, I always reflect on the goals I’ve set for myself and where I see myself going in the future.  My biggest goal was to get the doctorate by the time I turned 35, so that was a major check-mark off my list.  Now, what the heck do I do with myself? 

I decided not to make any new goals.  I’m just going to focus on my health and make this year one that I make myself a priority.  I’m happy with my eating habits and I’ve been really consistent with the Weight Watchers.  Hopefully, the pills and drugs I’ve been put on will help my poor body level out on the insulin and hormone front.

This morning, my bestie, Gretchen, stopped by my office with a little birthday gift….this week’s Meet My Owl.  He’s a newborn owl!

Isn’t he cute?  He’s handmade and a combination of felt and cotton fabric.  The stitching on him is so clean and neat.  It speaks to my Type A crafting soul.   Plus, he’s purple.  My favorite color.

Don’t you love the heart embroidered on his butt?

One thought on “Another year better and a surprise Meet My Owl

Leave a Reply

