Wednesday Weigh-In

I’m happy to report that I lost another 1.2 pounds this week!  This brings my total weight loss to 9.6 pounds.  I just know I can get to 10 pounds total next week.  I don’t know if it’s the medication or if my body is just responding to my eating efforts, but either way I’m really pleased with my progress.  Kevin has lost 8.5 pounds and I’m really proud of him too.

Our three month online membership to Weight Watchers ends on 5/22, so I’m trying to decide what I want to do when this time runs out.  I think I’m going to go it on my own- there is an app for 99 cents on my iPhone that tracks and does points value calculation.  I just need to get all of my saved points values for recipes down in a booklet before that 22nd deadline. 

I’ve been walking a LOT on campus over the past month.  As the summer begins, I’ll be walking less as committees dissolve for the summer and people are on vacations.  I’m going to need to start doing something organized at home more often or start walking around the lake more.

This week marks one month since I’ve started taking the Metformin.  I’ve noticed a few things that have changed since I started:

1)  I’m not hungry all of the time.  This makes sense if I do have insulin-resistence issues because my sugar levels have probably stabilized.  It’s actually the running joke in my family that if Lisa isn’t hungry, something is wrong in the world.  Have I had this problem my entire life and it just went undiagnosed for the majority of my adult life??

2)  I don’t crave carbohydrates as much. Again, is my body normalizing and not craving sugar/starches in an attempt to regulate itself? 

3)  When I do get hungry, I get HUNGRY and fast.  I notice this more at dinnertime.  I think I need to eat more snacks during the day, even if they are small snacks.

4) I’ve been eating weird things.  Yesterday, I had a yogurt with Grape Nuts for breakfast, some fruit around 11am, a Fiber One bar for lunch (nothing sounds good for lunch lately), some Wheat Thins for a snack, and (get this) two Morningstar vegan burgers and a can of green beans for dinner.  What the heck?

5)  I’m not craving cheese as much.  Not sure what that’s about.

6)  I’m not tired all of the time.  The feeling of dragging myself out of bed and being exhausted by the time I get home has lessened.  Maybe it’s because the days are getting longer.  Not sure, but it’s been a long time since I’ve felt this normal.

Having several weeks of losses has really kept my motivation up to stay on track.

Leave a Reply

