Surviving PT, Day 5 and Wednesday Weigh-In

Remember how I was afraid of the scale this morning because of my really terrible eating this weekend?  The good news is that I didn’t gain anything and I didn’t lose anything.  This tells me a few things:

  1. My body is getting used to eating like a normal person and I’m not gaining 5 pounds every time I eat something that isn’t rabbit food.  This is good.
  2. Maybe the Metformin is helping me to be able to eat a little bad and have my insulin stay stable.
  3. I have spent three weekends eating badly and still haven’t gained anything.  If I had just changed one day of eating each week, I may be three pounds lighter right now.  I need to rein in my eating habits on the weekends.  Summertime is the worst for me.  Fortunately, I’m going on vacation next week.  Unfortunately, I’ll need to be really careful with my food intake.

Let’s get to PT.  Day 5 was interesting.  I started off on the elliptical for 10 minutes, this time with a “hill” program.   After that, Heather had me go and hop on the table and we talked about the knee injury from last week.  Did it hurt over the weekend?  No.  Did I try to do any exercise over the weekend?  Hell no.

She decided to try something new and she taped up my knee in such a way that the knee cap was a little more supported and said that this would help me actually use my quads better for stability purposes.  It felt weird, but certainly more stable.  Happy with her work, Heather declared that we would be back to the normal routine and we headed over to do my rounds of band work and balance work.  Oh, wait, I forgot.  Before that, she decided we could do bridge lifts with my feet on the stability ball.  ON THE TABLE.  What the?!  She said, this way, you’ll have the extra motivation to keep balanced so you don’t fall off the table.  Keep drinking your Slurpee, Heather.  I’ll just be on the floor in a second.

So back to the exercises with the knee taped up.  It really was a latex miracle!  I didn’t have any of the unstable tracking of the kneecap and I definitely felt my quads working.  Heather said that this means that I am retraining my left leg to use muscles appropriately, instead of babying that side of my body.  She was so pleased, she suggested we try getting on the trampoline to do a few jumps.  I looked at her like she was a crazy-machine, but agreed that it had been over a month, so it was worth a shot.  Thank goodness it had a bar in front of it for me to hold onto!  I jumped with both legs ten times.  No problems.  I jumped with my right leg only ten times.  No problems.  Then, I tried the left leg only.  I could NOT jump!  My foot literally was not leaving the platform.  It was like I could not get any “air”.  Heather looked at me and then looked at the intern following us around and said, did you see that.  Yes, we all saw that!  What does this mean, I begged.  Am I still hurt?  No, she says.  This means you have zero calf muscles.  Your body cannot propel itself up because you have unstable ankles, connected to weak calf muscles, connected to an unstable knee, connected to underutilized quadraceps, connected to unstable hips.  I just looked at her and laughed.  So you’re telling me now that I need to be in PT for weak calf muscles??  Shoot me now! 

Like I said before, I believe in all things Heather, so I dutifully listened to my additional exercises for home.  I’m now doing ankle strengthening, hip flexion, knee strengthening, and now calf strengthing work at home.

Then, Heather makes a leap of faith.  She suggests that I try jumping at home.  I have a small trampoline that I got when I first hurt myself, so I can use that.  She wants me to try working up to 30 second jumps on each leg.  Yay!  She follows this with a statement that it’s time for me to start trying my normal exercise routine at home, modified to my own level of ability.  And, get this, she wants me to try hopping.  We’ll see about that, Heather.  I could be here all year.

Tomorrow morning I’m going to try and walk around the lake before work.  My calf muscles were screaming at me this morning, so I didn’t even try it.  But tomorrow, I’ll tempt fate, and my feet, with a walk and see how it goes.

3 thoughts on “Surviving PT, Day 5 and Wednesday Weigh-In

  1. Bahahahaha! She was drinking a slurpee in front of you? How rude! Oh and we’ll be eating lots of fresh fish and such so no worries about vacation ruining your track record. 🙂

  2. Gretchen says:

    I can understand that. Jackson craved Sweet Tarts. At least that’s the story I’m sticking with. 🙂

Leave a Reply

