Surviving PT, Day 8 and Wednesday Weigh-In

PT this week was no joke!  Heather is really pushing me hard and I’m kicking butt on my balance exercises.  I was doing so well that I asked if I could try the trampoline and the slide board again.  I’m determined to get back into the jumping.  She had me try 10 jumps on each leg, two times on each side.  I got really good air on my right leg and my left leg, which previously didn’t get any clearance, was a major improvement.  I still had to hold onto the bar in front of me to keep steady, but I was able to jump with no knee pain and my ankle only wobbled a little bit!  Onto the slide board- I was able to push off much easier and I was more confident with the booties on.  These are two major victories for me and I plan to do them again next week to see how it goes.  I still have major muscle weakness issues, so I’m taking it really easy and allowing my body to take the time it needs to be healthy.

PT has been a major mental shift for me.  I’ve been forced to slow down.  I’ve been forced to be patient with myself.  I’ve been forced to accept that I can’t punish my body when it doesn’t want to do what I ask it to.

In addition, this exercise break has forced me to reevaluate my eating habits.  I’ve become very mindful of what I put in my body and I’m working at losing the guilt over indulging every once in awhile.  The Metformin has definitely helped me, but I’ve been consistent 95% of the time with Weight Watchers.  I’ve learned to be patient during the stretches of time where I don’t lose anything for weeks in a row.  Before, I would get all crazy and try to exercise it off, without success.  I read all of the time in magazines how slow weight loss is better in the long run and I’m living proof of that.

Today, when I weighed in, I lost 2.8 pounds!  This is just like a couple of months ago when I had that week where I lost 3 pounds.  I don’t know what caused this to happen.  I guess my body was ready to let it go.  I was not expecting to see 147.2 on my scale, so I re-weighed myself three times to be sure.  Whoop!

This makes my weight loss a total of 16.2 pounds since February when I started.  When I think about the fact that it took me 5 months to do it, I’m shocked.  I really thought it would only take me 3 months.  But you know what?  I’m okay with it.  I’m plugging along, doing what I should be doing, and taking care of my body.  I’m proud of myself and it just motivates me even more to keep with the program and be patient.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Surviving PT, Day 8 and Wednesday Weigh-In

  1. Gretchen says:

    You should be proud because you’re taking care of yourself and and loving your body with all it’s quirks. Good job dahling! Slow and steady!

Leave a Reply

