Surviving PT: Day 10

PT was pretty brutal, but I’m proud to say I kept up.  Heather thinks I may have a little inflammation still in my knee, perhaps tendonitis.

We kicked things up a bit by doing some more balancing work on a Bosu, throwing balls back and forth on one leg, and I got to revisit my slide board and do planks with my feet slipping everywhere.  I felt the BURN.

While my ankles and hips have vastly improved, my knee still is giving me issues.  I have one more visit scheduled in two weeks.  At that point, Heather will decide if I am okay to forge ahead on my own or declare that I have serious issues that are lingering around which warrant another visit to the sports med doc for another PT prescription.

I have been given strict orders to kick up my exercise in the next two weeks.  Last week, I was so bruised from my “massage”, I could barely walk for three days.  Needless to say, my activitiy level wasn’t up to par last week.  In order to really know if I can do this on my own, I HAVE to start moving more and see how my body reacts.

I’m sort of happy this is all coming to an end (I hope).  I have spent a lot of time off work doing this and with the semester starting up again in a few weeks, I can’t really afford the luxury of time away like I’ve had.  Plus, “graduating” from PT would be a symbol of my recovery and would be encouraging.

Even with these happy thoughts, I’m still apprehensive.  Heather has been my safety blanket for almost two months.  She understands my bodily issues and she understands my warped views of exercise and pain tolerance.  She reminds me to be kind to myself.  Without her around, I fear I may slip back into my old ways and end up back with another injury.

So I’m pushing ahead, proud of myself that I’ve gotten to this point.  We’ll see what the next two weeks bring!

Leave a Reply

