Surviving training and fish tank update

After a crazy weekend, I got right to business on the fish tank on Monday.  Knowing I was waaaay in over my head with the caulking, I asked Kevin’s dad to come over and help.  What ensued can only be described as an exercise in stickiness.

We started with the clear caulk on the inside of the tank.  Let me back up for a second on this.  First of all, I have a major bone to pick with the caulking industry.  Why make these tubes to difficult to decipher?  All I needed was 100% silicone.  There’s apparently a type of caulk you are NOT to use on fish tanks, mainly because the chemicals leech into the water and kill the fishies.  So I avoided anything about mildew proofing.  That just helped me narrow down my choices by a small amount.  What I was left with was an overwhelming selection of different types of caulks, all 100% silicone.  But, the catch with the remaining selection was that it could have been caulk for bathrooms, windows, indoor, outdoor, roofs, kitchens, and quite possibly, my garage door.  What the heck?  If it’s 100% silicone, then what’s the difference?

I can’t even remember what I ended up with, but I left the store praying to the caulking gods that I made the right choice.  Clear for the inside and black for the outside.

So back to the tank.  The inside was a good place to start.  It gave me some practice smoothing it with my finger and getting the right size of silicone bead on the seams.  Bead, wipe finger, grap a paper towel, and then quickly remove excess with a paper towl.  Repeat.  Several times.  Attempt to keep cat away.

The outside of the tank was a little more challenging because it was black caulk and very hard to remove.  I ended up taping the tank and then going through the aforementioned process.  All in all, it took a couple of hours and a roll of paper towel.

Now the waiting part.  The tube says 24 hours for a full cure, but I’m paranoid.  That tank is going to sit for a few days just to be sure. 

Next steps:

  1. Buy gravel.  Black seems to be the winner at this point. Maybe I’ll do an emo tank.
  2. Buy the filter and whatever tubes go with it.  Yes, I still have no idea what I’m doing.
  3. Get my water testing supplies.
  4. Fill with water and wait.

This is an illustration of the nitrogen cycle.  From my investigations, this must happen before you add fish.  I see differing reports on how long this takes.  Two weeks?  Four?

In other news, I am almost halfway through with my time with Cori.  Yesterday was my fifth session and we did something totally different.  Instead of moving around the floor to various machines, we went upstairs and worked on an interval/cycle routine. This consisted of fast elliptical, ab work, ball work, and arms.  Be still my knee, please.

It was a great workout!  I actually sweated, which is something that I haven’t been able to do in awhile. By the end of the last circuit, my knee was definitely starting to feel that familiar pain.  I think my muscles are so undeveloped, it was a combination of weak supporting structures and perhaps an angry knee.

I’m definitely feeling something in my knee area today but I can’t tell if it’s injury or just a hard workout. I may take some Motrin later and ice it tonight when I get home to see if it helps.

This gives me hope that I can get myself back into shape.  It may not happen quickly, but I’m definitely putting in as much as I can during my sessions with Cori.  Maybe I’ll reward my effort with a new heartrate monitor next week!  I currently have an old Polar unit that is probably around 8 or 10 years old.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

