Mr. Hall’s famous chili

All I do is talk about food when I’m in training with Cori.  Seems a little counterproductive, but I see her during dinnertime.  What do you expect???  This girl doesn’t skip meals.  I always have food on the brain.

Anyway, I’m always touting the benefits of cooking in bulk and freezing food for later on.  With me and Mr. Hall’s crazy schedules, there are some nights were it’s all we can do to get something out of the freezer and warm it up.  Well, Cori was lamenting the same thing, so I suggested that she start learning to do this and get busy.

Our conversation was very timely, because Kevin was making chili last night and I’m planning on making my leftover turkey enchiladas from Thanksgiving today.   This post is for anyone who is looking for a new chili recipe and for you, Cori.  I promise this one is healthy.

Mr. Hall’s Famous Chili

  • 1.5-2 pounds ground turkey (go for the 15% kind here.  If you get the super lean turkey, it will be like rubber.  For reals.  I promise that there really won’t be a lot of fat in the pan)
  • 1 red onion
  • bell peppers of your choosing (usually a couple green here)
  • Spices: cayenne pepper, cumin, oregano, chili powder, paprika, sea salt, crushed red pepper flakes, black pepper, and Tony Chacheres spicy herb blend
  • 2 cans Busch’s chili starter in Texas medium (green label)
  • 1 can Busch’s medium chili beans (drained)
  • 2 cans black beans (drained)
  • 2 cans dark red kidney beans (drained)
  • 1 can light red kidney beans (drained)
  • 1 can great north kidney beans (drained)
  • 3 cans diced or stewed tomatoes (do not drain these)
It’s best to get all of your things ready before you start this process.  Note what to drain and what not to drain.  Open the cans and have them ready.  Your countertop is about to be a disaster.
In a saute pan of good size, brown up your chopped peppers and onions in some olive oil.  Add your meat and brown it up.  Make sure to break up the meat real good.
The next part is where things get a little sketch with the directions in this recipe.  I rarely am allowed to hang out in the kitchen when Kevin is making this chili, since it really is quite the production.  I have no idea HOW MUCH spices he puts in.  When I asked him last night, he said, “to taste”.  Sorry peeps, you are on your own with this one.  I’ve snuck in a couple of times, so I have seen him add them.  He usually just opens the top of the spice bottle, shakes it a couple of times and that’s it.  I recommend you add in your spices now and be conservative about it.
Waiting on the stove is a large stock pot.  We use a tall one.
Dump EVERYTHING into the pot.  The meat mixture and all canned products.  Stir and marvel at your genius.  Taste it.  Decide if it needs more spices.  Sometimes, he will use a spicier chili starter or diced tomatoes that are spicy.  I warn you, as it heats up on the stove, it can get spicier.  I don’t know why.
But I digress.  Dump it all into the big pot and bring to a boil.  Let it simmer for about an hour (or more) with a lid on.    Make sure to stir it every once in awhile.  Taste it again and decide if you need more spices.
When I got home, the house smelled like chili (warning, the ENTIRE house will smell like chili for a day or two) and this is what it looked like:
Notice the deep red color and how many beans are in there.  You have to like beans to like this chili.  I promise it won’t make you miserably gassy.   The lentil family is so rarely eaten by Americans.  We must eat our protein-ridden lentils once in awhile people!  We can’t get all of our protein from meats all the time.  It’s just not healthy.
I usually eat two cups of this, which comes out to around 7 Weight Watchers Plus Points, if you are curious.  Usually, Mr. Hall makes some cornbread with it.  We put the cornbread in the bottom of a bowl, top it with the chili, and I like mine with light sour cream and some cheddar.
For the purpose of this presentation, he put everything on a shallow bowl so you could see how much food you get for a healthy meal.
After we both had our meals (with a little extra seconds), we got out our trusty 4 or 5 cup Rubbermaid containers and filled them up.  We were able to fill up four of them, so will have four more dinners already done.  I usually put them in the fridge overnight to make sure they are cold, then I put them in the freezer.  They last for a good 6 months.
I hope you like it, Cori!  I will be posting my turkey casserole soon!
Leave a Reply

