Major things happening this month!

Hi all!

It’s been a while since I last posted, mostly because I’ve been so busy and not a lot of new things are happening in my world….until now!

The 17 day diet is good.  I seem to be on a plateau and I haven’t been able to get below the 20 pounds lost.  Maybe it’s all of the cherries I’ve been eating for dessert at night.  Oops!  They were delicious though and totally worth it.  The good news is I haven’t really gained either, so I’m okay with that.

Tomorrow is the first day of Cycle 2 and I’m not really sure what to do because I’ve got a lot going on at work.  If you haven’t heard, part of my new job requires me to do a substantial amount of traveling.  A new project in Distance Learning will be taking me on the road for the majority of July and part of August!

I leave on Sunday for a week, come back for a week, then leave for two weeks (thankfully coming home on Fridays so at least I can chill and do laundry).  I’m super excited about it but I know that this will impact my life pretty significantly in several ways:

1)  The diet.  You know how bad it is to eat on the road.  My plan is to have yogurt and oatmeal (which I will bring my own) for breakfast, my nemesis tuna or salmon for lunch with whatever fruit I can grab from the hotels, all natural energy bars for snacks and some sort of sensible dinner.  There’s no way I can really be “on plan” during these travel weeks so I just need to make sure to get all of the water I can and not go off the deep end.  The last thing I need is to be driving down the road with a Mountain Dew and a bag of pork rinds (my usual travel fare)!

2) PT and exercising:  I’m going to be in  the car for 8 hours on Sunday and then drive to a new location every night and morning.  Enough said.  My poor body is going to shrivel up.  Next week shouldn’t be too bad but the two weeks in a row is going to be a beast.  Cori gave me some ideas of things I can do in the hotel room.  I am not sure about the hotels and their fitness rooms, but I’m going to assume they are crap.  Some of the hotels do have pools, so maybe I’ll do some swimming if it seems like it’s big enough for that.  It would be nice if there was a deep end and I could tread water.  I’m a little sketched out by the fitness rooms and going by myself.  If I go and never come back, no one would be missing me!

3) Online course development: I just got approved to develop a new course and it needs to be done by Thanksgiving.  Time to get busy!  I plan to spend the evenings while I’m traveling reading and working on the lectures.  I hope I’m not too worn out because that will be a good couple of hours every night that I could get some work in.

 

I plan to blog about my trip and post photos here and on Facebook.   Virginia is a beautiful state and I’m looking forward to some time in the mountains!

Leave a Reply

