First day out “on the road”

After a long drive yesterday (9 hours!), I was practically crying with happiness when I checked into my hotel.  MapQuest and my TomTom said it would only take 7 and a half hours to get to Norton, but it was obviously longer than that when you take into account lunch stop, pee breaks (did so well with my waters!) and traffic issues.  All in all, it was a great drive and I love being up in the mountains.  It didn’t rain at all and the temps were in the 80’s, which is much better than what I hear is happening back home.

This morning, I got up early and did 45 minutes of exercise in my room.  I did my Cori exercises that she gave me and some squats, lunges, abs, and stretched.  I am really kinked up from the car drive, even though the car I got (a Chrysler 200- pimpin’!) is really nice.  Then I packed up all of my things, got the car together and drove to the first site in Big Stone Gap.  Such a little community college and nestled right in the middle of a mountain area.  Lots of hills on the campus and really pretty.

Drove about an hour and a half to Abingdon, where I am currently sitting at the desk in my hotel room.  Enjoying the view outside my window of a forest-covered mountain and sipping lemon tea.  Got all my water in for the day (96 ounces) and forgot to eat breakfast, I was so excited to get to the site.  Ended up eating tuna fish and my breakfast bar for lunch.  Had a nut bar (all natural) on the way to the hotel and ate at Wendy’s for dinner.  Their berry almond chicken salad is delicious!  Cheated and got a value fry.  What?  LOL

Tonight I plan to eat some cherries that I packed.  Almost sad to see them finished.  I wish I could have packed more, but I couldn’t justify trying to keep them fresh when I’ll be gone until Saturday.  The hotels I’m staying at have fruit out front so I grabbed an orange and an apple when I came in today and ate one.  Tomorrow before I go I’ll eat a bar and maybe an orange.  Tuna and an apple for lunch tomorrow.  I’m trying to keep some sort of normalcy with my diet.  I’m terrified to weigh myself on Sunday!

Got a great idea before I left to pack some dead sea salts.  So much better for you than epsom salts because of the mineral content for your skin.  Soaking every night to try to keep my hip spasms and other bodily issues controlled so Cori doesn’t have a mess on her hands next week.

 

Today is a bittersweet day for me because my bestie, Gretchen, is in the hospital right now delivering baby #2.  Thought I’d be able to be there for her today- how could we imagine that she’d be over a week late?!  I’m so happy and proud of her, but definitely feeling sorry for myself that I can’t be there to support her.  I can’t wait to meet this baby!!!

Brought my laptop and my new textbook for the next online class I’m developing.  Thought I could spend the evenings this week working for a couple hours at a time on getting lectures started.  If I’m going to be alone, I might as well be productive!

When I was getting onto a by-way today, I passed a road called High Hoot Owl Drive.  I about fell out!  I wanted to go back and take a pic but I was too far down and couldn’t turn around on a mountain.

Here is the drive I’ve had all day.  So peaceful!

Leave a Reply

