Back on the road!

Yesterday I headed out in my new rental car to Roanoke, a skinny 5 hour drive compared to the last 9 hour fiasco to Big Stone Gap.

I was so grateful that I got to stay at home all week because I needed to get caught up with work and the laundry was in dire need of attention when I returned.  Props to Mr. Hall for keeping his end of the bargain and having a clean house for me upon arrival!    

Anyway, I packed most of my bags on Sunday and headed out yesterday morning.  Thankfully, the weather cooperated and the traffic was perfect.  For the next two weeks, I will be driving a brand new GMC Terrain.  It’s a sweeeet ride with all of the upgrades.  I wasn’t going to go for it, but it was a free upgrade and Kevin didn’t like the idea of me traveling in the mountains in a Camry.  I’m glad that he talked me into it because the trip out to Roanoke was very pleasant.  I’m not saying my butt doesn’t hurt from the ride, but it’s a nice vehicle.

The rain held off just until I arrived in Roanoke last night at 5pm, so I was stuck in the car trying to wait for the downpour to stop.  I filled up the car with gas (only used a half tank to get out here!) and headed to the hotel.  Everyone and their brother was arriving all at once and clamoring for the protected overhang to unload luggage.  I just waiting for it to stop raining hard, grabbed my things, and headed in.  Then, I waited again for the rain to lighten up and finished unloading my car.

This has got to be the strangest hotel I’ve ever stayed in.  First of all, the hallways are like a sauna.  Seriously people, it has to be at least 85 degrees out there.  It’s like my hot yoga studio.  What the heck? On my way down the elevator, this woman got on with me and she turns to me and says, I don’t know why the fuck I keep staying at this place.  It pisses me off. 

Huh?

Little did I know.  First of all, shampoo, but no conditioner.  What hotel doesn’t give conditioner?  I packed my own, but still I like to keep them for one night trips.  I was really looking forward to getting some extras this week since the regular Holiday Inn’s are using the Bath and Body Works products right now and their flavor is….waitforit……Coconut Lime!  My summer fragrance! I about fell out.

Second weird thing:  no washcloths.  I know!!!

Third weird thing:  lamps that randomly work and then don’t turn off.  Electricity problems, anyone?

Other things that irritate me about this place:  it says it’s renovated, but that must mean that caulking up the shower and putting new linens on the bed is enough.  Hello, nasty carpet and peeling wallpaper.  Mental note: keep this reservation so I don’t book this place when Distance Learning sends me back out again.

The only good thing about this place is that my room has a fridge and microwave, so I was able to get a Lean Cuisine for dinner instead of a salad from Wendy’s.  For lunch, I had my salmon pouch, an apple, and a can of spinach.  Love spinach.

This afternoon, I started working on my chapter lectures for this online class I’m developing.  Thankfully, blissfully, my computer is working without issues.  I told Mr. Hall that it may be time to get a MacBook or a MacAir.  I don’t know how much longer this thing will last.

My plan is to do two chapters tonight and try to do one chapter tomorrow and another chapter on Thursday.  The book is 15 chapters.  I’ll be driving an hour to and from sites and hotels for the next few days, so if I can get through three complete chapters, I will be happy.  Tomorrow, my commute is an hour and a half to Lynchburg to get to Central Virginia CC.  Then, I have an hour drive to the next hotel in Gretna. I don’t even know where that is, but it’s near Alta Vista, which sounds like it’s in the middle of nowhere.  

Doing the exercising in the morning and the salt baths at night again this week.  Determined to stay on top of things to minimize the issues that may come up from not seeing Cori for two weeks straight.  

When I left yesterday, we had a TON of little green tomatoes on my plants in the garden (cherry, roma, and juliet) so I’m hoping that when I get back on Friday afternoon that I will have a bounty waiting for me!  The plants are getting over 8 feet tall, so Kevin may need to work on training the vines back down again to the ground, since I don’t think either of us want to be climbing ladders to get the fruits!

My basil is also taking off, so some caprese salads will be in my future too!

Leave a Reply

