An avocado a day…

I plan to do a more in-depth post about this later, but I recently started giving up my daily dose of dairy.  Say that three times fast!

I have some food allergies, which I choose to continue eating and it’s time to be more responsible.

Starting off with dairy.  Let me begin by saying that I am not lactose intolerant.  I am actually allergic to cow’s milk.  Again, this will be explained further in another post.  I found out I am allergic because of a blood test at my allergist’s office, so it’s legit.

I have been told many times to cut the dairy out of my diet.  But I love cheeeeeese.  I don’t drink milk ever, it’s disturbing that we continue to drink milk after infancy to me, but to each his own.

So, a couple of weeks ago, I started with my breakfast.  I make an omelette most days of the week for breakfast, which had cheese on it.  But what do I do if I take out cheese from my omelette?  Oh, unhappy day.

I love you cheese.

So I started brainstorming and decided that I would try putting an avocado in there instead.  Actually, a half of an avocado.  Then, I put tomatoes in there too.  It’s actually very buttery tasting and delicious. I put a very small amount of pink sea salt on it and pepper.   I use two egg whites and one regular egg.  The avocado is a little mushy but it’s delicious.

I have found a couple of things through eating this new breakfast setup:

1)  I am no longer hungry around 10:30 in the morning.

2)  I don’t feel the need to eat a piece of fruit with my breakfast since the avocado is so filling.

3)  It is not advisable to eat an avocado omelette in the car.  It is not portable.  I am trying new ways of transporting it to work to eat at my desk.  So far, the foil wrap method seems to be working the best for heat retention and not making it soggy.

 

Then, in the afternoon, I usually have yogurt and a piece of fruit.  Again, yogurt has milk, so I am eating the other half of my avocado instead and pairing that with the fruit.  It is still delicious.  I keep the pitted half of the avocado in my fridge in a ziplock and it works just fine.

I am now aiming for one avocado a day.  I did some research, and besides being the hip MUFA fruit, it is actually very good for you!

Did you know that avocados provide nearly 20 essential nutrients, including fiber, potassium, Vitamin E, B-vitamins and folic acid?  They also act as a “nutrient booster” by enabling the body to absorb more fat-soluble nutrients, such as alpha and beta-carotene and lutein, in foods that are eaten with the fruit.

Now some people may say, oh that avocado is really fattening.  But it’s the good fat and not as caloric as a milk product. Plus, it has lots of fiber.  Here’s the scoop:

  • About 75% of an avocado’s calories come from fat, most of which is monounsaturated.
  • On a 100 g basis, avocados have 35% more potassium (485 mg) than high glucose bananas (358 mg)They are rich in B vitamins, as well as Vitamin E and K.
  • Avocados have a high fiber content of 75% insoluble and 25% soluble fiber.
  • Research has shown that after 7 days of eating avocados daily, patients cholesterol numbers improve around 10%.
  • Some whisperings of avocados having anti-cancer properties are cropping up online, which are an interesting read.

I love you cheese, but you’ve been kicked to the curb for avocados.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

