Why I did not make New Year’s Resolutions

All I’ve heard about for the past three days is the New Year’s Resolution.  Did you make one?  Have you broken it yet?  What is your plan?  Why didn’t you do this last year?  Argh!

I used to make resolutions.  I think they are great, in theory.  But it seems like they get broken or people obsess about them.  No mas, I say.  No mas.

Sure, I’d like to resolve to lose more weight or be super fit.  Or, I could resolve to not have the self-control of a three year old when I’m around junk food.  Perhaps I could resolve to not keep starting up blogs about why I can’t lose weight or stay injury free.  Those are the old days, people.  

If I resolve to do anything, it’s to be present in my life and not allow the zillion other things I do to get in the way of me.  But I’m not going to keep doing this to myself. I can’t keep putting a number on a goal and then stress out about where I am in relation to that goal or number.

So to that end, here is my non-resolution:  I resolve to be kind to myself this year as I learn how to be healthy and take care of my injury-prone body.

One thought on “Why I did not make New Year’s Resolutions

Leave a Reply

