Food experiment of the week: Green goop

Remember how I said that I was going to try a new recipe every week?  Well, I tried it last night and it was quasi-successful.  I’m not doing so hot with my track record- two weeks in a row of meh recipes.

This week, I wanted to try some green juice recipes but I don’t have a juicer.  This recipe probably would have been better with a juicer.  You will see why in a second.

So here it goes.  The ingredients.

  • Handful of kale
  • Handful of parsley
  • Juice of a lemon
  • A nub of fresh ginger (what is the proper way to “peel” this stuff?)
  • One green apple
  • Two stalks of celery
  • A cup of coconut milk from the failed recipe from last week

I blended it up and it looked pretty good.  It basically looked like this:

drink (2)

 

As you can see, it is very bright and definitely has some texture to it.  It was delicious, but really chewy.  I guess kale doesn’t really pulverize.

Time to get a juicer!

Leave a Reply

