Recipe of the week: “I can eat that” bean-free chili

After my depressing post, I had quite a few people ask me if I really gained 4 pounds from the food I’m allergic to.  Yes, I can be dramatic, but this was no lie!  When I weighed myself this morning, I lost 3 pounds overnight.  Yep,  it’s official.  I have some serious food allergies.  I think it may be due to the fact that I started up the hot yoga in earnest recently.  It’s like my body is super sensitive to the good things and bad things I eat.

So after my meltdown with Mr. Hall, he promised to make me something I could eat for dinner this week and on days we are short on cooking time.  I love chili, but we usually make ours heavy on the beans.  I’ve read that people who have grain sensitivities often also have legume sensitivities, so I asked for a chili recipe without beans.  I found one online that seemed super tasty and different for both of our palates.

I’ve been trolling primal and paleo eating blogs, although I wouldn’t necessarily say I’m strictly going down that path.  I am getting some good recipe ideas from these blogs and that’s about it for now.  Like I mentioned before, I like to keep my options open.

This blog had a bunch of chili recipes that were all grain, dairy, and legume free.  At least I think they were from the ones I saw.  Anyway, there was one that caught my eye because it had bacon and sausage in it.  Instead of the ground beef and pork sausage, we opted for ground turkey and turkey sausage.  It was delicious!

Ingredients:
1 large carrot diced
1 green bell pepper chopped
1 yellow bell pepper chopped
1 red bell pepper chopped
1 yellow onion finly chopped
1 cup mushrooms chopped
2 tomotoes diced
4 cloves garlic minced
4 celery stocks chopped
4 fresh jalapenos chopped finely
1 large can beef broth (we used an organic brand)
1 large can diced tomotoes
1 large crushed tomotoes
1 large can tomato paste
1 lb smoked sausage links (we used a spicy smoked turkey sausage)
2 lbs lean ground beef (we used ground turkey)
10 Thick cut slices of bacon
1 tbsp paprika
3 tbsp chili powder
2 tbsp ground pepper
2 tsp cumin

Instructions: Chop carrot, bell peppers, mushrooms, jalapenos, celery, onion and add to crock pot. Mince garlic cloves and add to crock pot. Dice tomotoes and add to crock pot. Cut sausage into bite size slices and place in large skillet, heat on medium until skin has browned and add to crock pot. Place bacon in skillet and cook on medium until crispy. Remove bacon from skillet set aside on a paper towel. Drain most of bacon grease from skillet before adding ground beef. Add ground beef to skillet, cook on high until beef has browned. Add browned ground beef to crock pot (drain grease). Return to bacon and cut into small pieces and add to crock pot. Add beef broth, can of diced tomatoes, crushed tomatoes, tomato paste and spices to crock pot. Stir ingredients together. Turn crock pot on low and let sit for 6-8 hours.

chili overview (2)

As you can see, it has a ton of veggies in it but the meat products really make it like a stew.  It simmers down and becomes reduced in size and less chunky.  We have a big crock pot as you can see, but there was so much in this recipe, Mr. Hall actually ended up dividing it up into a smaller crockpot and this one.  We ate some immediately and put the rest into containers to freeze.

THE VERDICT:  delicious!  Heavy on the tomato flavor so we may add more spices next time.  Didn’t miss the beans at all.  Filling and flavorful.

Leave a Reply

