Recipe of the week: Learning to juice

Yesterday was my first time that I skipped a planned Bikram class.  I felt terrible all day and I knew I was not going to make it through a 90 minute, sweaty class at 7 o’clock at night.  I felt guilty about it, but I’m so glad I recognized my limits.  I’ll be heading in tomorrow morning with a fresh body and ready to go.

This week, I took the plunge and started juicing.  Remember my failed blender attempt at green juice a couple of weeks ago?  I didn’t forget about it!    Over the weekend, Kevin and I went to Bed, Bath, and Beyond and got a juicer.  Not just a cheap one either.  For $150 this thing was sort of an investment.  It’s the Breville Juice Fountain Plus.

je98xl-zoom_1

 

I know, before you think I’ve gone off the deep end, hear me out.  I get home from yoga class at 8:45 at night and still have to take a shower.  I haven’t eaten then since 4 that afternoon.  I’m sweaty, thirsty, and I need to eat something but there is NO WAY I’m having dinner that late so many days a week.  So, I started thinking about it and decided on the juice route.  It is a great way to get nutrients without being heavy and I’m ensuring my body getting what it needs.

Mr. Hall was a little “errrrr” about this, so I made him watch the documentary “Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead”. If you haven’t seen it, it’s basically about a guy who cures his autoimmune disorder through a 60 day juice fast and has maintained his health without medication by incorporating juicing into his diet.  In addition, he educates people and travels to talk about the benefits of getting your fruits and veggies in.  Kevin was quite inspired by this, especially because he has a very serious autoimmune disorder and I know he doesn’t want to be taking medicines for the rest of his life.

So it didn’t take much to get him on board and we bought the machine.  First of all, this thing is heavy duty.  They have some nicer ones, but I didn’t want to spend a lot on something that I didn’t know if I would actually like.  As I type this, I realize how ridiculous that sounds because if you know me, you know I don’t have a picky palate at all.  That’s why I have to watch what I eat!  Ha!

Anyway, Kevin had a crazy schedule this week and I didn’t want to start this without him, so we waited until last night to do it.  Unpacked the machine, read the directions, and agreed on a recipe:

  • 6 bunches of kale
  • 2 green apples
  • one cucumber
  • a small bit of fresh ginger
  • half of a lemon
  • 4 celery stalks, leaves and all

I spent some time on You Tube and watched other people make their juices.  Seems that many like this brand and model of juicer.  I learned that you should put the leafy greens in first so the other stuff can push it through that is more watery.

I was surprised by how much juice we got out- about a liter, and how dry the pulp bin was at the end.  I was expecting a soggy mess of pulp and it was very dry and almost dust-like.  This is a powerful machine!

So here is what we ended up with after it was all said and done…

photo (5)As you can see, we got two tall glasses out of the batch, with a little to spare in the juicing jug that came with the device. Note that the jug has some foamy juice in it.  There is a special spout that separates that out for you.  How cool is that?

I should mention that I had all of our ingredients in the fridge, so everything was nice and cold.

The verdict?  It was good!  The flavor was definitely unusual because of the celery and the ginger, but after the first few sips, I really started to like it.  It’s fresh and easy on the tummy.

Kevin, on the other hand, was a little slow to decide.  He finally decided that he did in fact like it!  Then, about 15 minutes into drinking (they aren’t something you chug down), he looks completely crazy.  He was hyper!  Juice high!

I could not stop laughing.  I guess he isn’t used to having so much fresh produce in his diet but he literally was bouncing off the walls for a good hour.  I can’t imagine if he did a juice fast what would happen.  It was nuts!

Cleanup of the machine was easy enough.  I’ve also read that you should immediately clean up before you even enjoy your juice because things get all dried up and hard to remove.  The pulp bin, jug, and top plastic parts were an easy rinse in the sink.  The only thing that was a little complicated was the actual round blade and the stainless steel mesh basket that everything goes through.  That was caked up with pulp.  The manual says to rinse it, then soak it in soapy water for 10 minutes before you scrub at it with the provided brush.  All in all though, not as bad as I thought it would be.

I am so happy I found something I can do for a meal after Bikram class.  I even went to the public library and got a book of juicer recipes to try.  I’m sure this isn’t the last you will hear about my new toy!

 

Leave a Reply

