To Bikram or not to Bikram…with a cold?

So I’ve been sick for the past couple of days.  This time, it’s just a garden variety cold.  Runny nose, sneezing, and general crabbiness towards life in general.  After not feeling well last week, I wasn’t happy to start up this cold this week.  I actually brought an entire box of Kleenex to work because yesterday was such a mess.  I bought the anti-viral kind, since I’m literally leaking out of my nose all day.

The cold started actually on Tuesday night.  I thought I’d be able to go to yoga yesterday but I wasn’t feeling that great.  Run down, sneezing, blowing my nose.  Can you blow your nose in a Bikram class?  It seems like an etiquette conundrum.

I was literally miserable by the time I left work yesterday so I just went home.  It was great because I got to bed earlier and was able to rest.  Today, I woke up feeling better but I’m still sneezing and Kleenex-ridden.  I made myself a carrot and beet juice this morning for breakfast, since I read that carrots are good if you have a cold.  I put in a little extra ginger too.

This brings me to the question of the day.  Should I go to Bikram tonight?  I’ve been agonizing over this because if I don’t, I will only have in two days of practice this week.

So I did what anyone would do in this situation.  I went to the interweb.

This may or may not have been a good idea.  Some people say that it’s good to go because you will sweat out the sick.  Other people say it’s too stressful on the body.  Others say that if you are sick from the neck up you should go, but if you are sick from the neck down, stay home.

I finally decided that I needed to make my decision based on the people in the room.  It is not nice to spread germs.  In a hot room that breeds germs.  To be near people who are sick.

So I am electing not to be that girl.  I could probably go and figure out a way to mop my nose, but I would hate it if I showed up and someone parked next to me who was sick and sniffling the whole time.  It’s just rude, people.

I’m going to take the time to rest, paint my nails, and spend time with my husband and cats.

That’s not a bad way to zen out.

Leave a Reply

