Recipe of the week: Grain-free tortilla chips

You all know about my problem with chips and salsa.  Call me any time, day or night, with an offer of heading out for chips and salsa and I’m there.  Show up with guacamole and I’m done.  It’s a problem.  I can give up the pasta and bread but don’t take away my chips!

I purchased some almond flour and coconut flour a couple of weeks ago with the intention of trying out some new recipes.  Then Kevin and I got the sick and we didn’t really do anything as far as serious cooking for a couple of weeks.

Last night, I decided to change that.   I have to get a handle on these chips.  Mr. Hall keeps buying chips and I keep telling him to stop.  He’s like a chip saboteur.

I scoured the interweb and found a few recipes, all having the same basic base ingredients- almond flour and egg whites.  Then, you just put in whatever spices you want.  Here’s what I did:

  • 2 cups almond flour
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  1. Heat oven to 325.
  2. Mix all the ingredients together to form a firm but supple paste.  I used my Ninja mixer with the dough attachment and it worked great.  I was surprised by how fast it mixed and how the two egg whites provided enough wet for the dough.
  3. Roll out 1/2 the mix between two pieces of parchment paper as thin as you can keep even.  THIN. As in REALLY THIN.
  4. Peel off the top parchment paper and cut with a pizza cutter or knife into whatever chip size you want.
  5. Bake for about 10 minutes.  You’re looking for light golden brown, dark means nasty bitter, if some chips color faster than others, use a flexible spatula and take them out.
  6. Cool on the pan.  Break apart and cool further on a wire rack.

As I mentioned above, I was surprised by how much moisture the egg whites provided in the recipe.  I’m not sure if almond flour is more absorbent (is that even a baking term?!) but it came out pretty well after it was mixed up.  I scraped it out with a spatula and placed the dough on a large piece of parchment paper.

dough

Then, I placed another piece of parchment on top and started rolling it out with my wooden pin.  I couldn’t believe how much it stretched out.  I didn’t follow the directions and cut the dough in half first.  Doh!

rolled dough

 

Yes, I am wearing my hot pink flannel jammies with paisley print.  What?

After much rolling, this is what it looked like when I peeled up the top layer of the parchment paper:

flat dough

 

As you can see, it looks really moist.  I carefully peeled off the top paper layer and got busy cutting the dough with a rolling pizza cutter.  I decided to just to squares.  It was a little difficult trying to peel each piece off and I ended up having a small pile of edges that I re-rolled and cut.  It smelled really good, even before it went in the oven.  I carefully placed each piece on a baking sheet (ungreased).  I used two baking sheets for this recipe.

I ended up leaving them in for 12 minutes because they didn’t seem really crispy.  I think it probably varies based on your own oven how long to leave them in.  Only a couple stuck to the pan and I was able to easily transfer them to a plate to cool.

final dough

 

As you can see, they are a little thicker than a tortilla chip but not as thick as a cracker.  I imagine you could make them like a cracker if you didn’t roll them out so thin.

The verdict? They were delicious!  Spicy and a little nutty in flavor with a satisfying crunch.  I saved a few to see how they do stored overnight in a bag, just in case I wanted to make a bigger batch to eat over several days.

Mr. Hall even liked them!  He ate several right off the plate hot, which was a good sign.  They are definitely more filling than a regular corn or flour tortilla chip, which is probably good because I can really pack away the chips.

I’m going to experiment with a cinnamon sugar batch next time!

Leave a Reply

