Surviving Bikram Yoga: Day 23

Last night was HOT!  I practically had to drag myself to class.  These 7pm classes are rough.  I just want to go home after work and veg on the couch.  It really is an exercise in motivation to go.  I love the class, but I’m just so tired at the end of the day and I know it’s going to be 2 hours more.

Aimee taught last night and the room was really hot when I walked in to set up.  I thought about checking the temperature and then decided that wasn’t the best way to start the class.  I quietly laid down on my mat and wished for sleep.  I don’t know why I’m so tired all the time.  I never got right with the time change.  I think it’s partially all of the things going on in the classes I teach too.  Busy busy busy!

As I said, class was really hot.  It was one of those classes that I had to talk myself through the entire time. One more posture.  Don’t wimp out.  There were a few new people there and one bolted out of the room.  A guy behind me was really struggling and after class he said that he surprised himself by really panicking about the heat.  Sometimes I forget how hot it really is in there because some days it doesn’t feel that hot to me.  Yesterday though, Aimee even opened the door and she NEVER opens the door. I practically wept with joy.

Last night I really focused on stretching my arms either out or up in postures.  It’s so easy to get slack with the arms and you really lose the benefit of some of the postures when you do that.

I wore a new pair of shorts last night that I got at TJ Maxx.  They are even shorter than my Nike ones.  I may as well just wear my swimsuit.  The one thing that I realized yesterday is that I’m really getting used to seeing my body in the mirror now.  It’s like desensitization therapy for me.  For the first few weeks of class, I was really not wanting to look at myself in the mirror.  Now, I’m not cringing every time I see my legs.  Either I’m getting fitter or it’s not that big of a deal anymore.  Either way, it’s good.

Leave a Reply

