Surviving Bikram yoga: Day 26

Last night’s practice was hot!  HOT!!!  I knew it was going to be when I walked in, first one to the studio, and started feeling my skin sweat right away.  I made the mistake of going up to the podium to check the thermometer and it read 107 degrees.  What the heck!  I wimpered my way back to my mat and started to do my pre-class stretching routine.  A woman came in who was new and chatted with me about her first time insecurities.  I felt bad because I knew that she was going into an oven right away.  Usually, when I walk in it’s around 98 degrees, maybe 101.

Boiling temperatures aside, I had a really good class.  My standing series was excellent and I realized that if I just move my foot over during triangle pose, I can really get in the posture appropriately.  I need to clarify tonight with Becka three things:

  1. Is this cheating?
  2. Is it more important to have your legs in the correct posture or just get your body down and arms up?
  3. If you can’t do the leg part all the way, do you stop there and not put your arms in position?

It seems like the overarching theme of the class is don’t worry about the posture 100 percent, but make sure that you get the posture correct to the point of failure.  If my legs are not correct, then I’m entering into the remainder of the posture incorrectly.  There are just too many unknowns for this Type A girl!  I need to find out.

I find that during class I’m getting compliments on things that I feel like I’m really struggling with, rather than things I feel like I’m doing well.  Perhaps that is their way- acknowledge improvements rather than perfection.  I continue to set up immediately to the right of the podium up front.  I have no shame.  I pay good money to be there and I want the benefit of corrections, and praise, regardless of what kind of day I am having on the mat.  It is important for me to let them know I take this seriously and  by putting myself in the spot no one wants, I can make eye contact when I need to, be seen when I’m doing something wrong, and get encouragement.  I don’t know why more people don’t set up closer.

I’m starting to pull up my top in class more often.  I think I may almost be ready to wear just a sports bra to class.  The last few classes have been so hot, I find it helps me to cool off by pulling the bottom of my top over my bust, so it makes like a double layered sports bra.  Then I look at myself and cringe and pull it back down.  I’m almost there.  I just need to stop looking at myself and accept it for what it is.  Maybe tonight I’ll try going for several postures that way and see how it goes.

The juicing adventure continues to go well.  I’m really enjoying my juicer.  I probably make juice 5 days a week now.  It’s so delicious.  I haven’t ventured past my green juice and my carrot/beet juice so I need to do something about that.  I have a new book so I may try something from there this weekend.  It’s a really neat book because it is divided up by the main ingredient of the juice and then it tells you if it’s for energy, digestion, immunity, or whatever.  I got mine for $11 on Amazon.  Totally worth it.

 

Leave a Reply

