Surviving Bikram yoga: Days 27-29

I have been so slack with my blogging!  It’s been a crazy time for me lately.

Last week was a rollercoaster of yoga practice.  Wednesday night, I had a terrible, terrible class.  It was probably my worst one since my very first class at the studio.  I was mentally there, but my body was not cooperating at all.  I had all of my water that day before I went, but it was as if I was weak, unable to even move around in the room.  It was hot as usual, but for some reason I really had a hard time. I ended up laying on my back for about half of the class, even during the floor series.  It was pitiful.  It must have looked bad too because Becka told me to drink a lot of water when I got home.  womp womp womp.

Thursday, I dreaded going to the studio.  I was feeling bad about my class the night before but I knew I needed to get back on the mat.  I had the day off and went to the morning session, even though Kevin thought that I probably needed to stay home if I was really struggling just 12 hours earlier.  I pushed through and boy am I glad I went.  I had an AMAZING class.  Aimee was teaching that day and for some reason, I had a superstar experience.  Everything that was wrong went right in this class.  I was doing postures with purpose and strength, which surprised me because I knew I had pretty much sucked the night before.  In fact, I felt so amazing at the end of class, I could have stayed again for another class!  When I left the room to sit in the lobby, I commented to Aimee that I couldn’t understand why I had such a terrible class less than 12 hours before.  She said that is actually common- people’s bodies have these breakthroughs in a very short period of time.  In addition, she said that as people practice, they find that postures that were very easy in the beginning are harder as time goes on and the ones that were hard in the beginning start to get easier. It’s all because your body is changing and stuff.  The whole thing is just crazy!

Friday, I didn’t go to class because we had a ton of things to do around the house and a nutty amount of yardwork.

Saturday morning, I went to class with a new instructor, Stroud.  I love that name.  He isn’t new, but he’s back from elbow surgery.  So this was the first time I had class with him.  He’s 100% awesome.  If my beloved Sandra from the other studio was a southern rock, heavily tattooed dude, she would be Stroud.  He’s got an accent and looks like a crazy person with all of his ink (both arms totally covered, plus the chest), but he’s so zen, it’s hilarious.  He says things like, “get it girl”, “do your thing”, and “let’s do it to it”.  I had a blast with him and he really has an energetic spin on the dialogue and it was a really fast class.  I totally felt it yesterday when my entire body protested when I got out of bed.  I am SORE!  I can’t wait to take more classes with him.

Saturday night, we had some friends over for the final four game.  Kevin smoked some chickens and we had a total blast with our peeps.  I can’t remember the last time I laughed so hard at the dinner table.  We are so blessed.

Leave a Reply

