Revisiting the “listen, we all have drama…but” post

Happy Thursday, everyone!  This has been the week that would not die.  I don’t know why some weeks go so fast and then other weeks you are counting the minutes every day.  It’s been one of those weeks for me.

Went to yoga last night and it was hot.  Like hot HOT.  You know when you stand too close to a campfire and your skin feels that burn?  It was like that before the class even started.  Pong came in and someone whimpered, “is it hot in here”?  We all internally whined in agreement and she said it was and turned it down.  I think it may have been because they were vacuuming and cleaning the room out before class and had the doors open but the heater on, so it was registering lower in temp until the doors shut.  It was seriously hot.  I had a pretty good class and only had to sit down for half of a posture in Triangle pose because I put my my legs too far apart for my current muscle strength abilities and got a bad muscle cramp in the back of my leg.

Besides that, I want to talk about drama and my post about my resolution to get rid of drama in January.  I’ve had several people around me comment about people around them who make them want to rip their hair out, and it got me thinking… It’s been a few months and I think I’m doing pretty well.  I have a few slip ups here and there but I tell you what, getting rid of the drama people in my world has been the best thing for me.  I now truly believe that you have to surround yourself with people who make you happy with no strings attached.

In addition to this, I started reflecting on how critical it is to tell those “good-vibes” people how important they are to you.  It is easy to become complacent in relationships (I’m talking beyond your domestic partner, family,  or whatever).  I’m talking about friends and people close to you.  In our culture, appreciation and affection are implied rather than spoken outright. Two guy friends call each other names to reinforce their friendship.  Feelings are almost never shared openly and freely. Consumer culture has cheapened our language of gratitude. Something like, “It’s so good to see you” or “hi, how are you” is pointless now because it’s what we say as a reaction to seeing someone during our day.  I think in our society it’s also sort of normal not to really be affectionate with people around you.  We think about Europe and Latin America- those people really are passionate, unabashedly affectionate with people around them.

So here is my step 2 of the “no drama people in my world” plan.  For the people that I’ve want to be around me, I’m going to be unabashedly affectionate towards them.  I’m going to hug freely, show that I appreciate and love them in any way I can.  I don’t get to see these people very day, so I’m going to be open about telling them that they are important to me and why.  I’m going to ask how they are doing and really listen when they tell me.  I’m going to be supportive when they need it, even if they don’t ask.

I’m going to express gratitude and affection any chance I get, because you never know if that will be the last time you’ll get that chance.

Leave a Reply

