Challenging myself

So I’ve never done an exercise challenge, but these Bikram yoga people love some challenge.

I guess just showing up for a 90 minute, 107 degree class isn’t enough.  They have to get all cray cray and go for 30 days straight at unpredictable intervals throughout the year.

Actually, it’s a little more complicated than that.  It’s 30 classes in 30 days.  You don’t HAVE to go every day.  They do things called “doubles” where you do two classes in one day to make up if you take a day off.  The cool thing about my studio is that they also allow you to participate if you travel outside of Virginia Beach.  All you have to do is go to another Bikram studio nearby and get credit that way.  I don’t think I’m going anywhere in June but it’s nice for people who need that.

Anyway, as soon as I saw this 30 day challenge announcement, I was all over it.  It starts June 1.  I was hoping it would start on May 1 so I started thinking that I could just do my own May challenge.  Then, it hit me.

60 classes in 60 days.  My own 60 day challenge.

WHAT!

You know me, go big or go back to Cori. 

So I posted on their Facebook page real quick and said that I was super excited and was considering doing this 60 day challenge thing starting NOW.  Then I hit send.  So now it’s real.  They posted back that they would do everything they can to support me and hold me accountable.

That means I’m in it.  Both feet in.  Especially now, since it’s on the interweb.

I put together a two month calendar outlining how this is going to go down.  I know it’s possible because two people did a 60 day deal when they did the last 30 day challenge in January.  And they were total beginners too.

It’s crazy though. The whole thing is nuts.  

But it’s going to be great blog reading.  Imagine what mental breakdowns await me in 20 days?  I’ve only gone four days straight before.  You could all have a front row seat to my mental demise.

What about my body, you ask?  Isn’t this going to be too much?  Maybe, maybe not.  It’s called a challenge for a reason.  It’s challenging.  It challenges your body.  The good news is that I can sit my ass down in class if I’m feeling less than stellar on any given day and no one judges me.  I don’t have an instructor telling me to “push through it” or threatening me that I’ll never get buns of steel if I don’t push myself to do more than I am able.  

And here’s the other thing that makes me not freak out about this whole thing.  When I go, I feel great.  When I don’t go, I feel bad.  When I don’t go for more than two days in a row, I feel like I need to go get a massage.  So that tells me that I should go and just do the best I can.

So there you go.  60 classes by June 30.

I plan to blog about this and share my journey with you.  I’ve heard that the first time anyone does this, it’s a life-changing experience.

I can’t wait to see what happens.

 

Leave a Reply

