60 classes in 60 days: #3-5

Last week was another bad allergy week for me.  I only got in 4 classes, which is not good since I’ll need to double up this week to make up for it.

Talked to the owner of the studio, Becka, about the 60 day challenge.  She gave me some tips on how to avoid over-working myself.  The biggest thing is that I can’t go in every day and give 110%.  Sometimes, she said, you just need to back off and take it easy in class.

I have to drive my mom to Richmond on Wednesday and Thursday this week,  so I plan to take classes both in the morning and evening on those days. I figure after several hours in the car, it will be good to be in the studio a little more.

I’ve noticed that my butt hurt a lot yesterday.  I think I’m starting to engage more of my glutes in some of the postures, especially the floor series because my legs are getting stronger.  That’s one thing I’m enjoying about this process.  It’s always challenging me as my body is changing.

I jumped for Cori this weekend!  I’ve been practicing at home but I haven’t had a chance to show her yet.  I was really proud of myself and we had a short, hyper,  special moment.  I didn’t think that day would ever happen and I’m so grateful that she stuck with me for a year and a half in PT.  The body has the ability to heal itself, but you have to be willing to be patient.

I’m not jumping high, but I’m jumping on my gimpy leg and I’m able to do directional jumping as well.  This is a big deal because it means that I’m rebuilding my neuromuscular connections.  It’s also telling me that this Bikram yoga is worth every damn penny, every minute I spend tired and sweaty in that room. I may go back to the gym someday, but for now I’m sticking with Bikram yoga.  It’s intense and crazy, but apparently it’s making me stronger, faster.

This morning, I made my green juice for dinner in advance.  By the time I get home from my 7pm class, I’m so tired and sweaty.  I hope that having it ready will be a time-saver and I won’t be dragging after the shower.

60 Day Challenge Stats:

  • Classes #3-#5
  • Classes to go: 55
  • Days left: 49
Leave a Reply

