Being a responsible adult: Emergency Preparedness

With our first tropical storm of the season approaching tomorrow, I’m ashamed to admit that I’ve never put together an emergency kit or binder at the Hall Hacienda.

It looks like we may have a busy storm season and it’s been more than a couple of years since we moved in, so I think it’s about time.

I’ll cover the emergency kit on another post, but for this one I’m going to talk about an emergency binder.

I’ve heard of people having important documents in a safe, but I’ve never put much thought into actually organizing it into a binder.  I love organization, you know me!

So I started it this week and plan to have it done by the end of the month.  I’ve heard that Avery makes a secure top sheet protector, so I may get those.  Also need pouches and a jump drive to scan all items on that are in the binder, keeping that in the binder as well.

I got a large binder and some dividers, which I labeled in the following categories…

  1. Proof of Identification
  2. Phone numbers and passwords
  3. Medical Records
  4. Accounts (Bank/Loans)
  5. Property Records
  6. Insurance Policies
  7. Pet Information
  8. Mom Information (since if we are likely to evacuate, she comes with us)

I’m slowly working on the contents, but here is what I plan to put in each section…

  1. Proof of Identification
    1. Photos of each of us, labeled (make sure I also have photos of us in glasses)
    2. Photos of us together, labeled
    3. Copies of drivers licenses
    4. Passports (in a pouch)
    5. Copies of school identification (Kevin’s school and ODU for me)
    6. Birth certificates
    7. Marriage license
    8. Social security cards
    9. Proof of Power of Attorney for my mom
    10. Diploma copies and transcripts
    11. Fingerprint card from police station (this is a good idea I read about on a blog).  Costs $10 in Virginia Beach.
  2. Phone numbers and passwords
    1. Our phone numbers
    2. Family phone numbers/addresses
    3. Close friends phone numbers/addresses
    4. Login and passwords for online accounts (this seems weird but people say it’s good to have)
    5. Phone numbers for emergency/utilities
    6. Phone numbers to all accounts we hold
  3. Medical records
    1. Copies of prescriptions and pharmacy contact info
    2. Immunization records (not sure if I can find these)
    3. Names and phone numbers of all doctors
    4. Quick fact sheet on each of us (Height, weight, eye color, hair color, meds, allergies, illness: in Kevin’s case)
  4. Accounts
    1. Checking/savings account information
    2. Student loans
    3. Mortgage info
    4. Any other loan information
    5. Retirement accounts
    6. Utilities
  5. Property records
    1. Photographs of both cards
    2. Car registrations and titles
    3. Photographs inside and outside the house
    4. An account of what is in each room of our house, including photos and value estimates
      1. Kevin’s drum stuff
  6. Insurance policies
    1. Cars
    2. House
    3. Health
  7. Pet information
    1. Photos of Nema and Athena (including a photo from Athena from behind so you can see her markings), labeled with quick read information that can also be used as flyers
    2. Medical records for both
    3. Nema’s insulin prescription
    4. Immunization records for both
    5. Rabies tags for both
    6. Microchip information for Athena
  8. Mom information
    1. Duplication of above items for Mom

I’ve also heard that people will put cash in small bills in their binder, as well as extra credit/debit cards, a map of the region/area, and extra copies of the photographs that are labeled for each person/group in case people get separated and you need flyers to hand out.  Having a small thing of tape, little scissors, a sharpie and pen are also good.

I plan to get a fire/water resistant box to store this in.  The interweb recommends that this be a portable safe, so you can pick it up and go.  That way too, other items of importance can be placed in the box along with the binder.

I’m sure I’ve forgotten something, but that’s it for now!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Being a responsible adult: Emergency Preparedness

  1. Lawdhavmercy please don’t post where you plan to store this box. All that personal information stored in one spot just makes me nervous. I can just imagine identity trolls coming to your house and swiping all that. Maybe I’m just paranoid. LOL

Leave a Reply

