60 Classes in 60 Days: Two more weeks!

I can’t believe that I’ve got two more weeks to go on my 60 day challenge!  I’m even crazy enough to think about extending it to 90 days now.  I know!

Last week, I did doubles on Friday and Saturday because I got behind on classes with the bad storms that went through.  I got stuck in traffic two times and totally missed class.  On Saturday, the owner of the studio surprised us with popsicles after class, since we are halfway done with the 30 day challenge (well, everyone but me).  I thought it was such a nice gesture and it encouraged people to stick around and talk after class.  I wasn’t going to eat one after the first class since I had 30 minutes before my next one, but I really needed to cool off and fast.  The humidity from the storms really made the room hot!

Jackie, one of the new instructors, was teaching that morning.  I am really starting to get into the groove of her dialogue style.  She’s definitely a little more crunchy than the rest of the instructors and likes to tell people it’s okay and sit down.  For someone doing back to back classes, it’s good to hear this (even though you know you can sit down whenever anyway).  I sat out of four postures (2 in the standing and two on the floor) during the second class and I’m glad for it.  After the second class, I had ANOTHER popsicle!  It was delicious.

I have had some people ask me how the bikini quest is going.  I think I’m getting there!  I haven’t lost but a few pounds, but I know I’m getting smaller.  I know for sure that I’ve got a zillion more muscles in my legs too.

I’m so pleased, in fact, that I’m even willing to put up a progress photo.  Be kind, my interweb friends!

bikini1

Embrace the curves, ladies!

So as you can see, I am wearing a bikini in my shower.  It’s the only place in the house I can get a good pic that is sort of full-length body.

As you know, I have serious body dysmorphia problems, so it’s hard to tell (for me at least) how I’m doing.  Sometimes I look at this and think, yeah I’m getting there.  Other times, I think, oh this is bad.

Realistically, I look at this right now and think that I’m doing well.  I don’t want to be super skinny so I’m not obsessing over being x inches smaller on my waist or whatever.  I look at this and I’m glad that I’m curvy.  It’s clear that I’m slimming down in places and I just need to keep up with my good efforts.  I eat well, drink my veggie juices almost 5 days a week, and I’m pushing myself at the studio.

Sure, I could be doing cardio too, which would probably help.  But right now I’m just happy to be on my strengthening kick and my heart is getting a good workout for several hours a week in the studio.  Seriously, if you haven’t done hot yoga before, you can’t understand how much your heart works.  Many of the postures in the Bikram series are actually designed to make your heart and lungs work, so that is good.  If I can get through the summer without hurting myself, I may start adding in cardio in the fall.

So there you go.  A declaration of a possible 90 day challenge and a bikini pic.  I’m proud of what I’ve done and where I know I’m going.

 

 

Leave a Reply

