90 classes in 90 days: #61-66

Welp, it’s truly official.  I’m on for the 90 days.   My studio announced it in several classes last week so it’s really, REALLY real.

Last week was really weird for me with the holiday being in there.  I actually went to class on the 4th and did a back to back double, but I’ve been feeling really off with my schedule.  It was good to know that I’d be back on track this week.

We had our 30 day challenge party at the studio yesterday.  It was fun to be there and not be in yoga wear.  I actually blow dried my hair, put on makeup, and wore a sundress.  People were all like, whaaaat?  I guess it probably is weird to see someone dressed up when you usually see her sweaty, half naked, and miserable most of the time!  Ha!

I made my world-famous guacamole and that huge bowl was GONE in a matter of minutes.  I couldn’t believe how fast it went!  Time to get more avocados.

This week, I’m pretty much going to be on a fruit/veggie/juice diet.  I ate so, so much food last week.  And things that I’m allergic to.  Not once, but every day several times.  I was miserable yesterday and pretty anxious.  I’m finding now that if I eat something I’m allergic to in small quantities, I get bloated.  When I eat it repeatedly, I actually start to get an emotional reaction and feel very tired.  I’ve heard this is common, but I’d never really paid attention to it before.  I felt miserable, like I was having an anxiety attack all day but at the same time I felt like I was falling asleep standing up.  It was bizarre and I totally learned my lesson after it happened three days IN A ROW.

Getting back to the yoga, I was really good and did 6 classes in 6 days last week.  I took off yesterday so I’m going to be doubling up this week.  It’s gotten to the point where running doubles seems to be the norm for me so I’m having a hard time when people react so strongly when they hear I do three double days in a row.  Maybe I really am crazy.

In other news, I found out last week that today is my beloved Aimee’s last day at the studio.  She is a traveling instructor, so I knew she wouldn’ t be there forever.  But it still sucks.  I took the majority of my classes with her so I’m feeling a little melancholy about her leaving.  Between her and Pong, I made the most progress due to their vigilant corrections during class and help outside of class on my postures.

I haven’t seen either of them for the past few weeks since they’ve been on vacation, so when I took class with Aimee last week, she commented several times how my postures have deepened since she saw me last.  In fact, she said during one of the savasanas on the floor series that she could see my spine was perfectly flat all the way down during wind removing pose.  I guess it’s helpful to have a break like that from an instructor so they can see how you’ve progressed over time.  I wouldn’t have noticed several of the things she pointed out in class on my own.  It makes me sad that she is leaving because I feel like I’m about to break through another physiological barrier soon and she won’t be there to see it. 😦

I am so grateful for the time that I’ve been able to have with her over the past few months.  She is going to travel around Peru for a few months and then settle into Australia to teach there for a year.  It’s definitely a loss for the studio, but I’m excited to get to know Erin, the newest instructor, and learn all I can from her.

90 Day Challenge Stats:

  • Classes #61-65
  • Classes to go: 25
  • Days left: 24

 

Leave a Reply

