Ready for some normalcy

It has been three weeks since I’ve been to yoga, people.  THREE WEEKS.

I’ll let you absorb that for a second.

What the hell happened, you may wonder?  How does someone go from doing doubles and a 90 day challenge (ending at 75 days) and then just stop going?

Was it because I hated it? No.

Was it because I was burned out? No.

Was it because I hurt myself?  No.

I literally shut down.  As you read in my last post, life just got too much for me during June and July.  You can refer back to that post for a refresher, but here’s basically what has been going on with me.

Everything.  I’ve been like a crazy person for the past two months.  Plus this month.  The good news is that Kevin started up at his new school two weeks ago and he is actually doing much better as of last week.  We have been sleeping throughout the night now for about a week now and it’s making a big difference.

We traveled up to Pennsylvania for a drum corps show two weeks ago, which was a bit of a drain on both of us but it was a lot of fun.  There are some amazing professional drum corps out there.  One of my favorite corps, Carolina Crown, won the world championship last weekend in Indianapolis and totally knocked my socks off at the show in Allentown.  Their show was entitled, “E=MCsquared”.  Here is a link to a video someone took at another show earlier in the summer.  Drum Corps International (DCI) may not be your thing, but this corp took it to another level this year.  The vocal track that you hear throughout the show are actually three percussionists in the pit up front.  You can hear them counting to 8 throughout the show and they have other dialogue in there you can hear too.  And, they are running back and forth and playing marimba when they aren’t singing into the microphones.  It’s just insane.  Watch it and turn up your speakers to be thoroughly confused and impressed.  My other favorite corp for the year is Santa Clara Vanguard, which is based out of California.  They did a Les Miserables show.  Here is a link to a part of their show, which has an amazing brass line “hit” on the I Dreamed a Dream song.  People went ballistic in the stadium when we were there.  It was a hair-raising moment for sure.  I may bitch about having to deal with band geeks, or even worse, marching band geeks with this stuff that Kevin drags me to, but I have an immense amount of respect for these young people.  You have to be 14-21 years old and the audition process is ridiculous.  Hundreds of people audition for spots in a variety of corps and only a handful of spots in each section are open each year.  Their talent is ridiculous and they are practicing for 16 hours a day usually, in crappy hot weather in the summer and running around blowing into/carrying an instrument.  Imagine running, then playing an instrument at the same time, getting good sound out, and making sure you navigate to a specific spot on the field and then move again.  These are truly musical athletes!

Getting back to my need for normalcy…

This week is the last week of my summer class, which has been giving me fits for the past 5 weeks.  I just want to be done with grading and exams.  Thankfully, that ends this week. Then I get to hurry, hurry, hurry and prep my three classes for the fall.

So I have to get back into a routine.  In a weird way, taking three weeks off from Bikram has showed me how much it was helping me.  I have noticed a gradual decrease in my energy, deep sleep, and my back hurts so much this week.  I need to get in the hot room again and work hard.

I’m going tonight, so that will be interesting.  Pong is teaching and she has a faster cadence to her dialogue.

 

Leave a Reply

