First followup appointment

I know it’s been forever since I posted, but now I feel like I’m getting some direction in my life.

Last Friday was my first followup appointment with the new doc and a little over a month “on the pig”, as I call it.  What? It’s ground up pig thyroid.  It’s PIG.  Ha!

Anyway, here’s how I feel like my first six weeks on the pig have progressed.  Sorry, this is going to get personal, but Hashimoto’s is so swept under the rug, I feel like anyone who feels comfortable enough to talk about it should.

Things I feel have improved

  1. Headaches seem to be occurring less (used to be daily)
  2. Tingling in hands and feet occurring less
  3. Improved clarity and energy in morning for a few hours.  I take my medication usually around 6:30am and I am very alert until between 10-11am and then I “hit the wall”.

Things that I’m still struggling with/unresolved symptoms/observations

  1. Still gaining weight
  2. Constipation has not improved
  3. Sensation of swollen tongue
  4. Menstrual cycle is out of whack. Two periods in three weeks.   Then, the last two weeks, terrible cramps and no period.  WHAT.
  5. Temps seem to be low on most days, except when I don’t sleep well or my menstrual cycle is soon to start (is that normal?)
  6. Still not sleeping well
  7. Word “finding” and brain fog
  8. Joint pain not improved
  9. Still very swollen.  In the last few days, it has progressed to me not being able to put my rings ON in the morning. It’s that bad.

Doc and I discussed the above and he agreed to bump up my dosage, so I’m now on 1/2 of a grain instead 1/4 grain of Nature Throid.  Double the pig!  I can take both grains in the morning or split one before breakfast and one two hours after lunch.  I’m doing both in the morning this week and then will try the split dose next week to see if I notice a difference.  So far, I’m not hitting the wall at 10:30am, it’s further off at 1:30pm, so that is good!

He also tested my reproductive hormones and found that my progesterone is low, so we will likely be starting to do some sort of supplement for that as well.  He didn’t want to change too much at once, so either next month or when I feel like my thyroid levels are optimized.  He said that this is normal as you age, so I guess that is relief.

My cholesterol is really, really high.  Like 307 old people high.  He wants me to try red yeast rice extract twice a day.  My blood glucose was also slightly elevated, but he wasn’t as concerned about that because it’s also common with thyroid patients and should level off with my thyroid meds AND MY DIET CHANGE.

Yes, my loves, there is about to be a major shift in my world.  He says gluten and dairy are out.  Like REALLY out.  This isn’t because of the thyroid issue, but rather because of the autoimmune issue.  It’s really bad for people like me to eat these things because it makes my body go into attack mode, which then affects my thyroid functioning.  It also can cause a “flare”.

So I’m not too broken up about the gluten, but you all know how I love cheese. I’ve done this once before, so it won’t be hard but I really need to watch now for dairy in products.  There may be a day in several months were I could POSSIBLY do goat cheese.

Then, he drops the big one on me and says, “you know, you really need to just cut all of the grain out of your diet”.

I’ll let you read that again.  Twice.

No grain.

I’m really feeling upset about this but he made it clear that I have a choice.  I can determine what my quality of life will be based on the meds, but most importantly by what I put in my mouth.  So I control this.

I have to choose to put my wellness first.  This is no longer about the “book and a bikini” or physical therapy and weight loss.  This is serious business.  Will I be able to have grains ever again that are gluten free?  Perhaps, but I need to do an elimination diet first and reintroduce things to determine if I do have an issue with them.

This will take months.

I’m feeling okay about it though. I’m feeling a little sorry for myself, sure, but I think the big thing is the social aspect of eating.  I don’t want to be the one of my friends where I have to say, “I can’t eat that”.  I don’t want people to feel like they have to do special things for me or change plans based on my dietary restrictions. It’s going to be an adjustment period for my family too. Poor Mr. Hall.

My next appointment is January 10th.  In this time, I plan to eat up all of the yummy gluten free things in my house and start planning some grain-free meals!

 

Leave a Reply

