Why I don’t do New Year’s resolutions: 2nd annual declaration

For those of you who followed my blog last year, I gave up resolutions in 2013.  You can read about it here.

Instead, I like to make a statement.  A declaration, if you will.  This year, I declare to stop worrying about being being skinny and having less wrinkles. Focus on being an active participant in my own wellness and be kind to myself and others. Encourage positivity around me and support the people I care about to do the same.

Listen, we all have drama.  It’s easy to get caught up in major life issues.

However.

We all have a choice.  We have a choice to be happy.  To rise above our circumstances.  To understand why people come and go out of our lives.  To choose to not be a victim to our circumstances.

Do I have bad days?  Sure, we all do.  The difference is that I really spent a lot of time last year not making that the norm.  I firmly believe this is why I finally was able to assert myself after 10 years of failed medical appointments and get a diagnosis.

So I’m continuing the same declaration into 2014.  Embracing the change in my life while being fully present.

I’m also happy to report that I made the decision to go back to Bikram yoga last week.  I have officially been to 7 classes in the past two weeks.  I’m pretty happy about it. When I have some more time, I’ll write about entering the studio after a four month hiatus, which is a crazy thing all on it’s own.

But until then, my lovelies, embrace the positive around you.  If there isn’t any, make some for yourself!

Leave a Reply

