Health updates and how the new food plan is going

I have to be honest, it’s been a rough month for me!  I think I had a Hashi’s flare last week. It was really terrible, now that I know what I’m looking for.  I’ll get to that in a second.

For the past month, I’ve been taking a 1/4 pig after lunch (waiting 2 hours after eating).  I’m not really sure if it’s helping me.  I’m not sure if it’s that my body isn’t absorbing it as well as it does on an empty stomach first thing in the morning or if it’s just too low of a dose.  I see Dr. Gent on Friday so I plan to ask him then.  I just haven’t noticed a difference.

Anyway, last week I started having some of the earlier September 2013 symptoms: really tired, can’t concentrate, forgetting why I was walking out of my office as soon as I set foot in the hallway, word finding problems, etc.  What really made it worse was I was DRAGGING myself through yoga.  It literally was like my body would not move. 

The best way I can describe a Hashi flare (for me) is this…it’s a combination of two things.  You know when you take cold medicine, maybe Nyquil, and then the next day you are a zombie?  And then you know how when you are really sick, like the flu and you can’t move the limbs on your body because they feel heavy and you just can’t function your muscles?  It’s a combination of those two things for me.  It was really frustrating to experience this because I felt like I had really turned a corner in December and early January, but I guess this is a lifelong thing for me. 

What’s even stranger is that I am not sure what set it off because I feel just fine this week.  But, I did only go to yoga three times last week because I couldn’t bring myself to go in that room and sit down.  Becka said it would be okay to do that if I needed to, but I feel like such a slacker when I do.  This whole thing is very humbling for me.

Onto other news, I’m on Day 23 of my autommune-ish protocol eating experiment.  Recall I’ve removed all inflammatory foods, per Dr. Gent, like dairy, gluten, and all grains.  I also am not drinking any alcohol, even my beloved cider.

It was pretty rough at first because yoga is pretty intense and I didn’t have any starches for the first 17 days.  In the past week, I’ve introduced sweet potatoes every other day at lunch and that has gone really well.  I’m being really, really careful about my starches because some people have inflammation issues with that as well.

So I’ve been plugging away at it and now I’m down 8.8 pounds.  I weigh myself every day, track what I eat, what I drink, my supplements, my exercise.  I’ve got a little binder I carry around with me everywhere.  It pretty much is all consuming, but at least I’m getting somewhere!

 

4 thoughts on “Health updates and how the new food plan is going

    • Professor says:

      Let’s hope your ultrasound will come out clear as well (Although it may indicate some changes due to the inflammation).
      The nuclear scan usually doesn’t show sub centimeter cold nodules.Nodule in isthmus can be detected by visual inspection or self-exam
      All the best!

Leave a Reply

