Health update: optimized?

Hi everyone!

It’s been a couple of months, mostly because I’ve not had a lot to report on.  I actually had a really rough late winter.  During February and March I felt like I wasn’t getting any better.  In fact, when I saw Dr. Gent in March, I was really beginning to wonder what was going on because I felt so terrible.  We upped my dose again in April, so now I’m taking three pigs in the morning and three after lunch.  

In April, I felt fantastic.  Like a new person!  He thinks my thyroid may be optimized now, but we can’t know for sure. When I saw him a couple of weeks ago, we decided to try to keep my dose stabilized and not increase it.  I’m a little worried, but I’m willing to try it out! There have been some days where I’ve been exhausted and wondered if my dose should have been increased again.  Those have been really frustrating.

I’m not a big meme person, but this one is spot on…

Image

 

I know it seems dramatic, but it really is a different kind of tired.  It’s miserable.

I think for me, it’s even worse because of the Hashimotos.  I am still having a hard time learning if symptoms are thyroid or autoimmune.  I think that’s what makes it so frustrating.

But, on a positive note, I’ve decided to try incorporating Pilates into my exercise routine!  I’m doing some very light cardio a couple of days a week (10 minutes at a time, doctor’s orders), but nothing major.  I am attempting to avoid overloading my body and sending myself into a Hashi flare again like last summer.

So far, I’ve been doing about 30 minutes of Pilates every day, with one day off a week to rest.  I have learned the following things in the last 10 days of this experiment:

  1. My body is stronger than I think it is.  I am pretty much convinced now that my neuromuscular issues were thyroid related. 
  2. My body is weaker than I realized.  Not being able to do things for several years resulted in some very weak muscles.  I am literally working from the ground up on this, people.
  3. I have to force myself to exercise daily.  I’m walking a fine line of fear and determination.  I’m afraid to overdo it so I’m really prone to bow out of this if I’m feeling particularly tired.  I have done this a couple of times and then done the next day a double dose, which hasn’t been that bad.  I’ve started using a planner to schedule my yoga and Pilates workouts and that has helped.
  4. It’s going to take time and I need to be patient. I have really learned over the past couple of years, but really in the last six months that I am not like everyone else.  I can’t do a 90 day exercise and diet program and have a major transformation.  It’s going to be slow and steady wins the race for me.  

 

I figure I will start blogging about my routine, if you are all interested.  It will be a little more varied than last summer when I was just doing Bikram yoga.

I’m excited to see what the summer brings.  If I really am optimized, then I should be noticing some major changes in my health and fitness!

 

 

Leave a Reply

