In a “health crisis”

Hi again!

I know many of you were wondering what the update is on my latest post.  I am happy to report that I saw my doctor in an “emergency” appointment last Friday to discuss my issues. I was really happy that he wanted to see me ASAP.

So when I saw him on Friday, I apologized profusely (of course I do this but there’s no reason for it) because I felt terrible about flipping out and sending my several-paragraphed 8 point font letter to him.

It turns out that I was RIGHT.  There was something wrong.  And he was so kind about it and reassured me that I wasn’t losing my mind.

Long story short, my TSH went up almost a full point and my iodine (which was never a problem before) had gone WAY down. Iodine is part of what makes up the thyroid hormones, which I didn’t know.  

My doctor also checked for my Hashimoto antibodies for the autoimmune, but he said that three weeks had passed since I started feeling bad so it wasn’t really a good marker of whether or not I was in an active flareup.

Regardless, he said, you are in a health crisis.  Your body is struggling to maintain normalcy and it’s losing. 

Wow.  To have it put like that, no wonder I feel like crap.  It is like a crisis.  

He upped the pig again, so now I’m taking a full grain in the morning and 3/4 of a grain after lunch.  I’m also now taking a kelp supplement, but it’s very specific dosing because you can overdose iodine and cause HYPERthyroid problems.  It’s a delicate balance.

Suffice it to say that I’ve been doing my fair share of moping over the past few days.  I’m frustrated because I feel like I’m back to square one in many respects.  I weighed in at 164.4 this morning, which is the highest I’ve ever weighed in my adult life.  My body is so inflamed, it’s bloated and I look a hot mess.  My August 2013 body has got nothing on this new, sick, crazy body.

So, here we go again, people.  This is the reality of autoimmune disease and hypothyroidism.  It’s a roller coaster ride of recovery and relapse.

Part of the issue is also exercise.  My doctor thinks I am overdoing the exercise, which is causing my autoimmune to flare.  Stress on the body causes this, and unfortunately, the body doesn’t know how to differentiate between bad stress (like bad life issues or sickness) to good stress (like exercising more than one day in a row or for more than 15 minutes).

The challenge is that I need to ride the line between stressing my body for it to get better and stressing my body in the process so it says, no thank you, I think I will shut down now and send you into a tailspin.  

I’ve done a lot of reading and it’s discouraging to find that some people can’t even do more than 10 minutes at a time for just 2 days a week.

So, I have some decisions to make.  First of all, what to do with the exercise.  Then, how to manage the stress of exercise on my body in a positive way.

I’ve decided that for me, I just need to push through it.  But, this time, I’m going to try some counter-intuitive things.

First of all, I am going to change my diet to include more high-glycemic foods.  While this goes against my insulin issues that come with my crazy body, I think that I need to push some higher-nutrient foods like bananas.  I’ve been avoiding these for some time, but adding them in may help more than hurt. I am also going to remove some things that I hate to, like grass-fed butter, because that may even been hurting my no-dairy plan.  I had this in my diet for specific reasons, but it may be more inflammatory than good for me and I have to try that out.  

I have to look at this from a certain level of curiosity or I will lose my mind.  So that’s the plan.  Keep an open mind, try, push myself, and be kind to myself as I recover.  Doc said it would take some time to come out of the flare, so I’m trying to be patient.

Today, I completely changed my meals:

Breakfast: kale and banana smoothie with almond milk and lemon

Lunch: chili, almond milk chia seed pudding and blueberries (soaked overnight)

Snack: two hardboiled eggs with sea salt (no butter)

Dinner: Carrots, peppers, and hummus

 

I’m going to drag myself to Bikram yoga tonight because I feel like I just need to suck it up and do it.  I have to admit that I’m a little paranoid to go since I’m still recovering but my body hurts so much that I think the heat would help.  I may have mentioned this before, but it almost feels like I have the body aches from the flu, but no flu.

Will update on how it goes!

Leave a Reply

